Sayuri Nigori Sake

More on alcohol this week. I decided to review this little beauty since I just finished the very last drop of it a few days ago. It’s been hot here for the past few days and drinking something chilled after dinner makes my stomach a little more happy.

I’ve been wanting to try out other flavors of sake for the past couple of weeks because I’m the only one in my group of friends who is entrusted with drinking responsibly. Therefore I have parents who allow me to drink so long as I’m wary of portions and so long as I share.

I drink about a shot glass to a half a day and sometimes top it with wine on the rocks if I’m still feeling full after an hour.

But anyway, I went out to my local market and found this great looking bottle of nigori for five dollars which advertised itself as sweet and fragrant and being a fan of the more fruity flavors I thought why not.

43552_XXX_v1

The larger bottle costs about twelve dollars at the same market but since this is my first time with it, I bought the smaller one. It’s alcohol content by volume is 12.5% as stated on the Hakutsuru Sake website. This is double what I drink in wine so I was a bit worried it might’ve been too strong, but at least it won’t kill me in one shot like say vodka or whiskey depending.

I haven’t tried regular filtered sake yet but I’ve definitely fallen in love with the creamy richness of unfiltered sake like these. On the same website I did my research I learned that Sayuri stands for “little lily” and if anything, the flavor of this “pure” drink was to cater to the average woman’s tastebuds.

The aroma was stronger than the Homare Strawberry Sake and had a bite to it. It was delivered in a way that was fresh and it didn’t come off too strong. I just had steak for dinner and it paired well with the more filling meals particularly meat and poultry. The first sip was bitter and it stuck to your tongue. It was somewhat dry but the second gulp went down smooth leaving the throat warm and infiltrating the nose with the undeniable goodness of sake smell. I think it would make a great winter drink. My mother complained it was too bitter but I was fine by it. English breakfast teas tend to be more bitter in my opinion.

It’s definitely not something a newbie should try in cupfuls. I suggest taking two to three small sips when starting out like in the traditional sake cups. One is enough for the beginner. When I had it the following night it tasted sweeter than it was originally, crisp and smoother, probably because I had gotten used to it.

Drinking it on its own was kind of boring so playing the part of a bartender I mixed up my own concoction. I added a third of the Sayuri sake to my shot glass, topping it off with some homemade strawberry wine my mother made from the strawberries I gathered at a farm. This made it taste sweeter, heavily aromatic, and strongly reminiscent of the Homare Strawberry sake only more bitter and packing quite a tangy punch to it.

Then for the following nights I followed the same process but with fruit juice. I added the nigori and then topped it off with some dark cranberry and pomegranate juice and it tasted like a creamy fine wine and my mom who loves fruit juice more than alcohol also fell in love it.

I guess I’m a natural at mixing. Who knew.

Leave a Reply

